only check Indycals

Although it was his first start at Indy, Meyer is not considered a rookie winner as he drove 41 laps in releif of Wilbur Shaw in 1927. Nevertheless, 1928 was the third consecutive year that a first year starter won the 500 - the only time in history that has happened, (the only other time first year starter won in consecutive years was 2000 and 2001).

Driving for car owner Alden Sampson, Meyer took the lead with 19 laps left to take what would be his first of three Indianapolis 500 wins. This was also the first year the winner got to take home the pace car.





MP2 Fine Art Photography

Formula 1 Modeling Site

Copyright 2020
MP2 Enterprises Inc.

Website design by
Michael Portaro

Made on a Mac
with Adobe Dreamweaver CC Note: Rates are based on current market values. Rates may vary slightly at checkout.


1928 Miller

Driver: Louis Meyer

click images for larger views


Contrary to how this car is currently depicted in the Idianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum, the numbers on this car were not black and light grey, they were blue and red, as depicted here.

Purchase 1928 Miller Decals




Quick Links:

500 Winners   •   Other Indy    •   F1   •   Le Mans/IMSA
CanAm/TransAm   •   f5000   •   Tires   •   Space